Dorothy Mandelstam Award 2020

The ACA are delighted to announce the 2020 Dorothy Mandelstam award.  This award acknowledges the pioneering continence work of Dorothy who was a founder member of the ACA.

The Award

This is an annual award of up to £1000.00.  The winner (or a member of their team) MUST present their work at the annual ACA conference, 18th and 19th May 2020 in Bristol.  The award incorporates a monetary award of £500 in addition to payment of conference fees and attendance expenses (travel, accommodation) up to £500.00.  The winner and runners up will be encouraged to submit their articles for publication.

Award Criteria

All applicants MUST be members of the ACA.  (Please add membership number to the application!)                                                                                        

Applicants should submit either a 2000 word case study on a chosen aspect of continence care or a 2000 word paper on a continence service development that demonstrates compassion and improves the quality of patient care.  The chosen aspect of continence care must apply to a particular group of patients, for example

  1. Women or men
  2. Disease / condition specific, e.g. Parkinson’s disease, Multiple Sclerosis, Dementia, Stroke, spinal cord injury, 
  3. Age specific, e.g. Paediatrics/teenagers/elderly
  4. Learning disabilities

 All submissions should:

  • Describe clearly why the chosen aspect of continence care or service development is significant and unique to that particular group of patients.
  • Demonstrate the use of evidence (research / literature / national guidelines) to inform, change and improve practice.
  • Demonstrate  improved quality of patient care
  • Demonstrate  innovation, productivity or prevention
  • Identify areas  requiring further development

 Guidance for submission

  • Include a front page with a Project Title – name and other details should only appear on this page and not other pages in the submission, to allow anonymised review
  • Respect patient confidentiality and anonymity
  • Avoid mentioning the manufacturer or distributer of any  product by name
  • Use Harvard referencing system and provide a separate reference list
  • Use 12 font size and be double spaced
  • Adhere to the 2000 word limit  


Application Submission

Completed applications should be submitted electronically to ACA PA, by Friday 28th February 2020.    

Judges:    ACA Education Group Members.

The 2019 Dorothy Mandelstam Award Went To: 

Karen Armstrong-Lamb
Senior Research Nurse- Community
Mid Yorks Hospitals NHS Trust


Jen Lodge
CNS: Bowel Health
Leeds Community Healthcare NHS Trust

They presented ‘The Symptomatic Rectal Stump” at conference in 2019


The 21st ‘Look Good, Feel Good’ Award 

 This award is an annual joint award between ACA and Bladder and Bowel UK and that it will be open again in 2020 to any company exhibiting at our conference

The ACA Conference held at Bournemouth International Conference Centre saw the presentation of the 21st Annual ACA/Bladder and Bowel UK ‘Look Good, Feel Good’ Award (LGFG).

Judges came from a varied background of Specialist Nurses, Allied Health Professionals (both adult and pediatric clinicians), charity and  lay representation.

Only products that are exhibited at the ACA Conference, that have been launched since the last ACA Conference or which have not been exhibited at an ACA Conference previously are eligible for the award.


Awards for Best Oral Presentation, Best Abstract and Best Poster of a Free Paper at Conference 2020

A Call for Papers is circulated annually to all ACA members. The awards for best oral abstract, best abstract and best poster  are awarded annually at conference.


Honorary Life Membership of the ACA

Honorary life membership will be conferred on those members who have made a national contribution to the ACA. Find out how you can nominate someone you know here.

The ACA Honorary Award, 2009, was awarded at conference to Ian Pomfret for his many years contribution to the ACA .

ACA Fellowship Award

This award is open to colleagues in the field of continence care from around the Globe. Find more details about this award here.

The first ACA Fellowship award was awarded to Ray Addison for his pioneering work in the field of continence care.


Paediatric Continence Forum

Excellence in Transition of Care Paediatric Continence Awards launched


22 August 2019. The first ever Paediatric Continence Forum Awards were launched  to recognise excellence in transition of care from children to adult continence services (bladder and bowel care) in the UK.


The Awards, the first of their kind, are a collaborative exercise between the Paediatric Continence Forum (PCF) and the company Essity.

The press release is attached and more information is available at

Applications are open to those working with children, adults, or from a combination of adult and paediatric services.  Applicants will be expected to demonstrate excellence in the application of the NICE Quality Standards QS 140 “Transition from children from children’s to adults’ services” and NICE guidance NG43 “Transition from children’s to adults’ services for young people using health or social care services”. Entries will be judged by a multidisciplinary team of clinicians with extensive experience in paediatric continence care and transition. The winners will be announced in January 2020 and will be given an award certificate, as well as a digital badge which can be used to promote their win in electronic communications and on social media.


Judging panel:


  1. Susan Affleck, Head of Nursing, Children's Services, and Clinical Nurse Specialist in Paediatric Urology, St George's Hospital.
  2. Juliette Rayner, Chief Executive, ERIC, The Children's Bowel & Bladder Charity
  3. Davina Richardson, Children's Specialist Nurse, Bladder & Bowel UK
  4. Nicholas Madden, past President British Association of Paediatric Urologists

Important dates:

Entries open: now

Deadline for submissions: 22nd November

Results announced: January 2020